Accidents and Patience

     Many that ride horse are familiar with getting hurt, but I’m sure there are those out there that have lived a lifetime with horses and never gotten hurt in any kind of way. I’m no stranger to injuries from riding horses. Broken fingers, bruises, broken ankles, broken foot, concussion, strained or pulled muscles. The list is endless.
     Last week; February 24, 2016 I decided to saddle up my horse and go check the fences after a really bad storm. I put my lace-up steel toed boots on, tacked him up and walked to the pasture. Mounted up, walked about 100 yards and he got a little too excited or as I said that day, cocky and full of himself. He gave a small buck and reared. We ended up going over sideways with him landing on my foot.
     So, here I am in the mud with a stallion loose in the pasture with geldings and mares, fully tacked up and split reins waving around everywhere. I didn’t have my phone on me because I didn’t want it to fall out of my pocket. I got myself up, tried to walk (OUCH), then started hopping on one foot to the tree that was about 25 feet from where I was. This entire time I was screaming as loud as I could for my mother who was in the house. There was also the neighbors and some workers next door. I was hoping and praying someone would hear me. My mom finally came out after hearing me, but she thought it was a cat instead. She caught my horse and put him in his stall. The big question was how was I going to get from my spot by the tree to the truck. Problem solved. One cute 12hh white pony came over to console me. I quietly and slowly got on and my mom led us to the truck. I’m so appreciative of that pony.      At the Emergency Room. Not too long of a wait but still a wait. Luckily I removed my boots beforehand but I was still in muddy jeans. I was given an IV, pain meds, and Zofram. Taken for x-rays and had a CT scan because of the metal in my ankle. The verdict? It’s broken. The 1st metatarsal is broken, dislocated and displaced. The 2nd metatarsal is broken just a hair below the joint that connects the phalanges to the metatarsals.

12472536_10207252151416395_9075002690427270401_n
     The ER refereed me to an orthopedic doctor who refereed me to another. In the end, I couldn’t even afford the office visit. I went to the one my basic insurance would cover. He told me something I really didn’t want to hear.  I NEED SURGERY. He told me that sure it would heal without surgery but I would never be able to walk on it  and if I did walk on it I’d be in such severe pain that i would choose not to.
     Off to University Hospital. I sat from 4:30pm to 8:30pm in the waiting room. Then waited until just past midnight in the room. In the end, NOTHING was done. I was told that I’d have a referral put into the system so that i could get an appointment with the Ortho surgery clinic. I never heard from them. I called and was told that I wasn’t in the system yet. UGH!!!!
     The next morning was the drive back home and to another hospital ER. My goal was to get put in the system in some kind of way. OLOL was great. They did more x-rays. Put me in the system. Now I’m stuck back in LIMBO WAITING……..
     I’ve started a gofundme campaign. Maybe I can raise the money to have the surgery maybe not. I’m trying.
     So, after this injury it’s going to be hard to get back on my horse. I’m nervous and spooked. I love my horse though and think that with time it’ll happen. I’m scared that I won’t be healed in time to start his training again and that we won’t be able to compete in the TbMakeover this year. I’m scared that I won’t be able to walk again. I’M SCARED!
If you can please SHARE and donate. Every little bit helps.
     Donate to my surgery here

Everyone should remember that horses can be dangerous but for me my love and passion tamps down that fear of danger. I love my horse(s) and my passion for horses is strong after 20 years. I’d love to hear from others that have had major injuries and how you survived and lived afterwards. How did you get back on the horse? How long was your recovery? Your thoughts on what you had to overcome and how you did it.

Leave a Reply

